I attended CGA Shows (Nature Coast) in 2011 and met Aya Knight

Here is my account of my first anime convention:

On Saturday, October 8, 2011, I attended CGA Shows at the National Guard Armory in Crystal River at 10:00 AM. It stands for Collectibles Gaming Anime, and it seems to be a traveling show. The majority of the floor space was taken up by dealer tables (I got a Japanese orange drink for $2.00).

I met a young published author named Aya Knight, who was selling her first novel, “The Chronicles of Kale: A Dragon’s Awakening”. I admit I had never heard of her or her book, but I attended a presentation that she gave in another room about writing tips (I was her only audience member at first). She asked about my history of writing, which I gave her. I asked her questions during the presentation. She was very helpful. I also love that she’s so friendly and unassuming. We chatted on the way back to her table after the presentation. She autographed (and personalized) a card (I forget the technical term) of Kale for me, and I bought the paperpack edition of her book ($14.00) to try out (she said the sequel’s coming out in 2012) and as a show of appreciation (I would have gotten the hardcover, but that was $25, and, after the $5 entrance fee, I had only that amount left and wouldn’t be able to get anything else), even though she made clear that the ebook edition was $4.95. She autographed and personalized it as well.

Here’s the card.

I didn’t want to risk damaging the book by trying to scan the autographed page, but here’s the book.

I then went to a poster dealer and got three posters ($10.00):

Final Fantasy X – Yuna
Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children – Tifa Lockhart
Vampire Knight – Yuki Cross

After leaving, I stopped by Wal-Mart on my way home to tell my mom about it. On the way home, I remembered “Duh, I got a digital camera!”, so I turned around, went back (they let be back in for free, because my left hand was still stamped, but they restamped it), and got pictures of me and Aya taken (by the guy that was with her at her table). You can see them here and here.

While I’ve been trying to start up my own original series and get them published, meeting Aya has inspired me to really go for it!

About markmooreauthor

I love watching anime and superhero movies, and I love playing video games. I also write fan fiction and original fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

